START HERE
Choose how to begin
Compare every model now, or get help finding the right cleaning power for your room.
PRODUCT CLAIMS
Check a claim only when you see it
“Covers a large room”
Find the air-change rate behind the number. One air change per hour is not the same as repeated cleaning during smoke.
“True HEPA”
Useful for particles, but not proof that the unit moves enough air for your room.
“Removes smoke”
Smoke CADR measures particle cleaning. It does not prove removal of every wildfire gas or odor.
Built-in air sensor
Useful for trends near the machine. It is not a whole-home measurement.
Auto or smart mode
Convenient, but it does not replace enough airflow. Continuous operation at a useful speed matters.
PRODUCT COMPARISON
Compare eight air cleaners without losing the judgment.
Start with smoke cleaning power, then check filter cost, noise, and electronic filtration. Each illustration represents the named product; it is editorial artwork, not product photography.
Best reason to consider itLowest entry price in this comparison.
What may rule it outThe smoke-filter replacement interval is not stated.
- Current price
- $89.99 sale
- Replacement filter
- $39.99; timing not stated
- Published noise
- 24–54.5 dB
- Electronic feature
- No ionizer listed
Best reason to consider itA little more output in a compact unit.
What may rule it outThe electronic filtration stage may not suit every shopper's preference.
- Current price
- $139.99
- Replacement filter
- $38.99; up to 9 months
- Published noise
- 19–48 dB
- Electronic feature
- Mechanical + electronic particle charging
Best reason to consider itStraightforward airflow upgrade without an ionizer listed.
What may rule it outThe smoke-filter replacement interval is not stated.
- Current price
- $189.99 sale
- Replacement filter
- $64.99; timing not stated
- Published noise
- 22–52 dB
- Electronic feature
- No ionizer listed

Medify MA-40
239 cfm smoke CADR
Best reason to consider itSimilar particle output in a traditional floor-unit design.
What may rule it outThe filter subscription defaults to six months, longer than the product page's 4–5 month estimate.
- Current price
- $249.99
- Replacement filter
- $59.99; 4–5 months
- Published noise
- 40.5–53.3 dBA
- Electronic feature
- Optional ionizer
Best reason to consider itCurrent mid-output model with a pellet carbon filter and app control.
What may rule it outThe maximum noise level is not published on the product page.
- Current price
- $259.99; in stock at manufacturer
- Replacement filter
- Filter Q: $79.99 list / $55.99 sale; 12 months
- Published noise
- 23.5 dB minimum; maximum not stated
- Electronic feature
- PlasmaWave; can be switched off
Product facts and evidence
Official product facts ↗ENERGY STAR: 5510 family includes 5520, 253 cfm ↗Best reason to consider itStrong particle output for the initial price.
What may rule it outThe smoke-filter replacement interval is not stated.
- Current price
- $299.99
- Replacement filter
- $79.99; timing not stated
- Published noise
- 26–55 dB
- Electronic feature
- No ionizer listed
Best reason to consider itMore particle delivery with a smoke-focused filter option.
What may rule it outThe electronic filtration stage may not suit every shopper's preference.
- Current price
- $349.99
- Replacement filter
- $84.99; up to 9 months
- Published noise
- 23–53 dB
- Electronic feature
- Mechanical + electronic particle charging

Coway Airmega ProX (affiliate link, opens in a new tab)
568 retail / 577 Energy Star smoke CADR
Best reason to consider itHighest large-room output in this comparison.
What may rule it outCoway and ENERGY STAR publish different smoke CADR figures; matching uses Coway's lower 568 cfm figure.
- Current price
- $999
- Replacement filter
- $199 set; 6–12 months
- Published noise
- 23–46 dBA
- Electronic feature
- No ionizer listed
About the images: These original editorial illustrations help distinguish the compared products. They are not manufacturer photographs and may omit small cosmetic details.
Buying through an Amazon link may earn Fully Considered a commission at no added cost to you. Retailer relationships do not decide which products appear or how they are described.
How these product facts were checked
Exact retail-model certification joins, manufacturer prices, replacement filters, and Amazon destinations were rechecked September 2026. The unavailable Medify Amazon listing is disabled. Prices and stock can still change. CARB certification addresses ozone emissions, not cleaning effectiveness.






